My Clever Girl

Madeleine & cheer buddy

Madeleine & cheer buddy

Here is my beautiful daughter, Madeleine – the blonde on the right. She poses proudly with her cheer friend after last nights banquet dinner. Her first cheer season as a freshman has come to an official end with last nights banquet awards dinner.

I’m not going to lie….I was not exactly looking forward to the event for a few reasons. 1) I’m not a fan of potlucks, 2) there are 47, as in FORTY-SEVEN, cheer leaders so it was bound to be a long evening and 3) as I’m not the PTA type of mom, you can imagine I’m not exactly the cheer-booster kind of mom either. But, this is my daughter and of course I was going to go. I did have a bit of an ‘out’ as I was going to “have” to leave early to get to a business meeting of a group I belong to for which I serve as treasurer. Perfect.

So there my husband and I sat at a table in the school commons surrounded by 47 excited young women and their parents. Madeleine did not sit with us as that would be way too uncool – duh. But I had a perfect view of her sitting at a table with friends. I just sat and watched her. I watched her smile and laugh and talk. I could see her excitement and nervousness. And it hit me how incredibly blessed I am to be her mother. How lucky I was to be present at that banquet and to witness her success.It wasn’t long ago that my life was headed down a different path and I could have so easily missed out on all of this. I sent a text message to let my group know that I would not be able to attend the business meeting – that I needed to be at my daughter’s banquet dinner.

In all honesty, it has not be easy lately to be a mother to Madeleine. The past couple years have been extremely challenging as she is pushing for independence but at times not making great choices. And just last week was a particularly challenging week with her. I’ve had to be the strong mom – the mom of discipline and consequences. But last night all  of that faded away – as least for the moment – and I just got to be present and enjoy her accomplishment. She had her 15 seconds of spot light as she was presented her JV and Varsity letters, but it was worth every minute of the 3 hours I sat there (yes…..3 hours!).

I was asked just yesterday by a friend regarding how I parent through the tough times with Madeleine. I didn’t really have an answer. I do this parenting thing one day at a time – sometimes one minute at a time. Sometimes I do it well. Sometimes I fail miserably. Sometimes I want to run away from it all. But ultimately, I’m so glad I don’t. I’m so glad I’m present.

I have an amazing daughter. She is smart and talented. She is beautiful. She is doing her best to grow up and maneuver through this ever-changing world. She is a clever girl,indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

